News Flash Home
The original item was published from 3/12/2019 11:14:28 AM to 3/15/2019 7:59:35 AM.

News Flash

Emergency Services News

Posted on: March 12, 2019

[ARCHIVED] DES Intern receives CCATO Award

Thomas Lewis Marchall Award at CCATO 2019 (2)

To view original press release


For more information:  Ernie Holling, President CCATO, 610-423-6754 or Cary Vargo, Executive Director CCATO, 610-646-7008

Thomas M. Lewis awarded Lewis H. Marshall Award at Chester County Association of Township Officials Annual Spring Conference

West Chester University Senior Thomas Lewis was awarded the Lewis Marshall Award annually presented to a West Chester student demonstrating academic excellence with a career intent to work in local government in Chester County. The award was first presented in 1972 and honors Mr. Lewis Marshall who served as Secretary/Treasurer of West Goshen Township, CCATO, and a member of the Executive Board of the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Supervisors.

“CCATO continues to be pleased to have the opportunity to partner with West Chester University and is pleased to have the opportunity to recognize an exemplary student destined to excel in his service to the public,” said Ernie Holling, Board Member, West Pikeland Township and President of CCATO.

Thomas Lewis is the son of William and Mary Ellen Lewis of Pittston, PA in Luzerne County and is completing his studies in Political Science and Geography/Planning at WCU this May.  He intends to earn graduate degrees in GIS and Planning. He was an intern at the West Goshen Township Planning Department in developing the township’s Comprehensive Plan and the Chester County Department of Emergency Services focusing storm water modeling. Thomas graduated from Holy Redeemer High School, Wilkes Barre.

Before an audience of over 200 Thomas commented “I thank the township officials and administration of West Goshen, and the Chester County Department of Emergency Services administrators for providing me with incredible internship experiences and mentoring me towards my professional aspirations. And a special thanks to my parents who have never failed to support me in any of my endeavors.”

The five candidates were reviewed by a committee this year including Dr. Dorothy Ives-Dewey, Chair Geography/Planning at WCU, Nicholas Sapone 2018 award winner and Ernie Holling President of CCATO and a supervisor in West Pikeland Township.

The minimum requirements for consideration include: Third or fourth year undergraduate student or graduate student, including students who graduated in December immediately preceding the  submission deadline; Completed or presently participating in an internship or other type of employment with a municipality in Chester County or Chester County government; Minimum grade point average 3.0; Quality of work evidenced by a paper or project submission to the committee, or a faculty reference; and a student in geography and planning, political science, public administration, criminal justice, public health or other qualified disciplines.

### 30 ###

Facebook Twitter Email