Early Intervention Eligibility

en Espanol
From birth to age 5 years, children should reach milestones in how they play, learn, speak, and act. Each child grows and changes at their own rate, but some children have delays in development. Eligibility is based on delays in reaching these milestones. Therapies and other supports can help the child reach their individual potential. All Early Intervention services are provided at no charge to the family.  The five major growth areas are:

  1. Physical development 
  2. Speech & language development
  3. Social and emotional development 
  4. Adaptive development 
  5. Cognitive development 
Children age birth to 3 are eligible for services if they have:
  • 25% delay in one or more area of development
  • a specialist’s determination that there is a delay not measured by available assessments, and the delay results in functional limitations 
    of the child’s daily activity
  • known physical or mental conditions which have a high probability for eligible developmental delays
Children not eligible may qualify for follow-up tracking. Children eligible for tracking are:
  • birth weight under 1500 grams (about 3½ pounds)
  • cared for in neonatal intensive care units, or born to chemically dependent mothers
  • seriously abused or neglected (substantiated)
  • confirmed to have dangerous levels of lead poisoning.
Children under age 3, the Early Intervention Unit is the first place to contact for information. Hospitals, physicians, specialists, caregivers, and families may contact the program at 610-344-5948 or electronically by clicking this link – EI Online Referral.

Children over age 3