Chester County, Pennsylvania
County of Chester
313 W. Market St.
P.O. Box 2748
West Chester, PA 19380-0991
Ph: (610) 344-6000
Toll Free: 1 (800) 692-1100

Get DirectionsGet Directions
Contact Us Via EmailContact Us via Email
chescopin.jpg

ChescoConnect Mobile App

Go To Search
Firearms Licensing Division
Firearms License Application

Pennsylvania Law requires the Sheriff of Chester County to process all Applications for License to Carry Firearms.

Licenses are issued to all those who qualify, based on a background investigation done by the Sheriff’s Office through the Pennsylvania Instant Check system (PIC).  Once an application for license to carry is filed, the Sheriff has 45 days in which to complete the investigation and notify the applicant.  The license is valid for 5 years.  The Sheriff has the ability to revoke the license at any time for good cause.

Firearms License Application

Firearms License Renewal Instructions


Instructions for License to Carry
 
License to carry a firearm will be issued to Chester County residents only, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF: out of state sworn police officers with proper identification.

Application Instructions - New Licenses
 
1. An applicant must be 21 years of age and a Chester County resident.

2. You must complete the application in its entirety, including two character references.  We prefer these references be Chester County residents and not family members.  If you are retired you must still complete lines #21-27 with your former employer information.  We take your digital photo and electronic signature in the office.

3. Proper identification is required.  You must have a PA driver’s license with your current address, and photo.  If you do not have a PA driver’s license, you must have a PA non-driver’s identification card that has a photograph and current Chester County address.  This card is issued by PENN DOT.

4. If you are not a US citizen, you must present your current immigration card. 

5. The application process may take up to 45 days, which is mandated by law.  Upon approval, your license will be mailed to you.  If you are denied you will be notified by mail, and a portion of the fee returned.

APPLICATION FEE IS $20.00. WE ACCEPT CASH OR MONEY ORDERS ONLY.

PLEASE RETURN COMPLETED APPLICATION IN PERSON TO OUR OFFICE. 

DO NOT MAIL YOUR APPLICATION.

OFFICE HOURS:
MONDAY-FRIDAY 8:30am-4:00pm
610-344-6984




with the bold text in the example below: