Chester County, Pennsylvania
County of Chester
313 West Market Street
West Chester, PA 19380

Get DirectionsGet Directions
Contact Us Via EmailContact Us via Email

Go To Search
The Board of Chester County Commissioners and the Chester County Agricultural Development Council (Ag Council) present two annual awards, Farmer of the Year and Distinguished Agricultural Service. The Farmer of the Year award recognizes a farmer, farm family, partnership, etc., who maintains and exemplifies outstanding farming practices. The Distinguished Agricultural Service award honors an individual(s) who has positively promoted, made significant contributions to, or provided exceptional services for the Chester County agricultural community.

If interested in nominating someone that deserves recognition in these areas, please complete the Farmer of the Year nomination form and/or the Distinguished Agricultural Service nomination form. The ADC will review each nomination and select a recipient.

This year, the Ag Council presented the Farmer of the Year award to two winners: the team from Seven Stars Farm and Lewis Wilkinson. The Distinguished Service to Agriculture award to was given to Howard and Janet Robinson, longtime champions of Chester County agriculture. For more information about the 2015 winners, click here

2015 Farmer of the Year Award
The Team at Seven Stars Farm, represented by Mark Dunphy

2015 Farmer of the Year Award
Lewis and Mary Wilkinson

2015 Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award
Howard and Janet Robinson

 Year Farmer of the Year
Distinguished Service to Agriculture
 2015 The Team at Seven Stars Farm
Lewis Wilkinson
Howard and Janet Robinson
 2014 Robert Lange Robert Ray
 2013 Drs. Thomas and Barbara Schaer
Peter Flynn
Daniel Miller
 2012 Dave and Roberta Roteller

Larry Welsch
Terry Brett
 2011 Ike and Lisa Kerschner
David Hodge
Joseph Fecondo
 2010 Steve Castorani
Jane Pepple
 2009 Norman Laffey Family and
Anthony and Karen Vietri
Nancy L. Mohr
Joseph and Ben Cordivano Donald (Buster) Needham 
 2007 Stan and Cathy Guest   Charles Harris 
 2006 Karen Vollmecke
John Arrell 
 2005 I. Glen Engle Family
Dennis Byrne
 2004 Phillips Mushroom Farm
Betsy Huber
 2003 Angelo J. Zunino and Son Inc.  Charles L. Roten 
 2002 Knight Run Farm  George and Sue Lamborn 
 2001 Walmoore Holsteins, Inc.  Arthur Hershey 
 2000 Gottlieb Strohmaier Family  Gary W. Smith 
 1999 David Lantz Family  Cheryl Fairbairn 
 1998 The Raymond Harnish Family  Furman Gyger, Jr. 
 1997 Tim Barlow and Ben Beiler
 1996 Matthews Family Robert Lange 
 1995 Rosazza Family  Hoopes family 
 1994 Omar and Nelson Beam families  G. Pownall Jones 
 1993 Yeatman Bros.  Charlie Brosius 
 1992 Horace/Hazel Walton  Charlie Gable 
 1991 Ken/Marilyn Umble  Hoopes Yarnall Family 
 1990 Bill Beam  Harold Kulp 
 1989 Mason Brothers  Charlie Wollaston 

Chester County